Nevv European Bauhaus Upskilling x (Education+Practice)

Public Conference Thursday 20 April 2023 9h00 to 17h30

ULB Faculty of Architecture La Cambre Horta 19 Place Eugene Flagey, Brussels

Web-streamed from the ACE website







With the European Year of Skills 2023, the European Union aims to promote a mindset of reskilling and upskilling, in order to boost competitiveness of European companies, and help them to realise the full potential of the digital and green transitions. Skills and competences of building professionals lie at the heart of the New European Bauhaus (NEB) – a beautiful, sustainable and inclusive built environment can only be the result of the work of skilled professionals, in the construction sector, but also throughout administrative and policy decision-making processes. We need to train a generation of professionals that adheres to NEB values and is capable of achieving its ambitions.

In this context, the Architects' Council of Europe (ACE) and the European Association for Architectural Education (EAAE) are co-organising a one-day public conference to discuss what are the skills, methods and pedagogies needed for a flourishing and ecologically beneficial architectural practice that addresses the challenges of our turbulent twenty first century. This event programme discusses developments, teaching practices and models of innovation within architecture that include, but also go beyond the private-public axis, to engage community-based initiatives, microeconomies and modes of empowerment that express the emerging new values of this era. We will examine pilots, practices and cultural demonstrators that show how architectural research and education can activate innovation ecosystems in ways that address the significant challenges of climate change, while drawing on the principles of the NEB.

We aim to interrogate the values underpinning how architecture is researched, practiced, and taught throughout Europe, so that we can maintain our competitive edge, while upholding our collective cultural identities. In this way, we aim to meet the needs of our communities beyond functionality, encourage dialogue across cultural divides, and work in harmony with nature, the environment, and our planet.

On the occasion of the conference, the shortlisted nominees for the 2023 edition of the Young Talent Architecture Awards (YTAA) will be announced. The YTAA is a category of the the EUmies Awards / EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture. It highlights outstanding diploma projects of Architecture, Urban Planning and Landscape Architecture students. The conference, which is co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the EU, will bring together professionals, architecture students, educators and researchers, as well as delegates from the ACE and EAAE.

Architects' Council of Europe European Association for Architectural Education

Agenda

8h30	Registration
9h00	<u>Welcome</u> Marcelle Rabinowicz, Dean, ULB Faculty of Architecture La Cambre Horta Ruth Schagemann, President, Architects' Council of Europe Oya Atalay Franck, President, European Association for Architectural Education
9h10	<u>Opening speech</u> Video message by Themis Christophidou , Director General for Education, Youth and Sports, European Commission
9h20	<u>Presentation of the NEB Academy</u> Ruth Reichstein, I.D.E.A., Advisory Board of the President of the Commission
9h30	Morning Keynote Ashraf Salama, Professor of Architecture and Urbanism, Head of Architecture and the Built Environment, University of Northumbria, United Kingdom
10h00	Professional Associations and Networks Dag Boutsen, Council Member, European Association for Architectural Education Dubravko Bačić, Executive Board Member, Architects' Council of Europe Olga Mihalikova, Chairperson, European Network of Architects' Competent Authorities
10h45	Coffee Break
11h15	<u>Students</u> Ivan Blasi, Director of programs, Fundació Mies van der Rohe, curator EU Mies Awards Young Talent Anamarija Dujmović , Architecture student, SUPEUS, Croatia
12h00	Academia / Education Johanna Meyer-Grohbrügge, Professor at the TU Darmstadt, Department of Architecture Camilla Hedegaard Møller, Professor at the Royal Danish Academy – Architecture, Design, Conservation and Head of Strategic Design & Entrepreneurship Programme



Architects' Council of Europe
European Association for Architectural Education
Wacław Szarejko, Professor at the Faculty of Architecture, Wroclaw University of Science & Technology
Massimo Santanicchia , Professor and Director of the Master's Program in Architecture at the Iceland University of the Arts
Lunch Break
ULB Faculty of Architecture La Cambre Horta ULB Annual Student Exhibition preview with Philippe De Clerck & Marc Mawet
Afternoon Keynote Rachel Armstrong, Professor of Design-Driven Construction for Regenerative
Architecture in the Department and Faculty of Architecture, KU Leuven
Research
Leslie Petitjean, Circular Economy senior officer, ICLEI Europe, BUS-GoCircular Roberto Cavallo, EAAE Council Member, digiNEB
Paul McCormack , Innovation Manager, Belfast Metropolitan College, ARISE
Coffee Break
<u>Practice</u> Raul Pantaleo, Architect, Co-founder, TAMassociatti, Italy Ehab Sayed, Founder & CEO, BIOHM, United Kingdom Lara Molino, Program Coordinator Exhibitions & Lectures A+ Architecture in Belgium, Brussels Architecture Prize, Belgium.
Round table discussion Moderated by Rolf Hughes , Director of Artistic Research for the Experimental Architecture Group & Professor, Department of Architecture, KU Leuven, Belgium
Presentation of the joint statement and concluding remarks Oya Atalay Franck, President, European Association for Architectural Education Ruth Schagemann, President, Architects' Council of Europe Philippe Meilleur, President, Belgian Order of Architects
End of the conference
Bus transfer to the Villa Empain Meeting point will be communicated during the conference
Evening cocktail reception Hosted by the Belgian Order of ArchitectsVilla Empain



Conference Organisers:

Architects' Council of Europe

www.ace-cae.eu

European Association for Architectural Education www.eaae.be

Conference Committee

Rachel Armstrong, Dubravko Bačić, Dag Boutsen, Julie Deutschmann, Céline Monbailliu and Pierre Obajtek.

With the support of:







