Save-the-date / 2 October 2019, EU Parliament in Brussels: Policy Seminar and Opening of the Exhibition on Climate Change


In the afternoon of 2 October 2019, the Architects’ Council of Europe is organising two events in the European Parliament:

From 16h00 to 18h00 – Policy Seminar on Quality Architectural Services for a Sustainable Built Environment
This seminar will bring together Members of the European Parliament, representatives from the EU Commission, architects and other stakeholders to discuss solutions that architecture can offer for a sustainable, high-quality built environment. The seminar will also focus on the mobility of architects’ services in the internal market. The session will provide the opportunity to better understand the regulatory framework in which European architects operate and the challenges and opportunities raised by EU policies and initiatives, notably regarding energy performance of buildings, circular economy, climate change, services in the internal market and recognition of professional qualifications.

Confirmed speakers include: 
     - Ciaran CUFFE, Member of the European Parliament
     - Ulli GRASSMANN, Baumschlager Eberle Architekten
     - Josefina LINDBLOM, EU Commission - DG Environment
     - Pascal KERNEIS, Managing Director of the European Services Forum
     - Georg PENDL, ACE President
     - Ruth SCHAGEMANN, Member of the ACE Executive Board
     - Judit KIMPIAN, Chair of the ACE Sustainability Work Group

From 18h00 to 20h00 – Opening of the exhibition on 20 Architectural Projects Against Climate Change
With the support of the EU Creative Europe programme, the ACE has created an exhibition featuring 20 architectural projects that contribute to mitigate climate change and adapt our societies to its effects. This exhibition will be displayed in the European Parliament from 30 September to 4 October. The opening of the exhibition will take place right after the policy seminar, from 18h00, and will be followed by a cocktail reception.

The seminar of the vernissage are organised with the kind support of the Vice-President of the Parliament, Mr Rainer WIELAND.




Back to top