News, News - Members Area



On 29 October 2021, the Architects’ Council of Europe held its second General Assembly of 2021 in a hybrid format. On this occasion, Ms Ruth Schagemann (BAK Germany) was elected President of the organisation for a two-year term starting on 1 January 2022. She will succeed to Georg Pendl.

The ACE Executive Board membership was also partly renewed: Fulgencio Avilés Inglés (Spain), Carl Bäckstrand (Sweden), Dubravko Bacic (Croatia), Christos Christodoulou (Cyprus), Borys Czarakcziew (Poland), Daniel Fügenschuh (Austria), Selma Harrington (Ireland), Paul Jeppesen (Denmark), Ruta Leitanaite (Lithuania) and Diego Zoppi (Italy).

About Ruth Schagemann:
In 2006, she founded the Architect's office VICE VERSA Architektur + Medien. Since then, she has been engaged in National and European affairs for the Baden-Wurttemberg Chamber of Architects. As an ACE Board member, Ruth has been deeply involved in European and International affairs for the profession over the last six years. She has been involved with coordinating ACE’s response to the implementation of the EU Service Directive and the Professional Qualification Directive, the legislative process for the introduction of the Services package launched by the European Commission  in January 2017 and other internal market affairs.  

In her view the New European Bauhaus initiative is a very good way to bring forward the ideas and interests of the profession. She is highly committed to defending the interests of architects and has demonstrated her excellent coordination skills during the past six years as ACE Executive Board Member and Coordinator of  ACE thematic Area 1 "Access to the profession".          

Back to top